Sonata in D Major Hob.XVI:37

By Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809), arr. Peter Solomon Gross

String quartet

Includes score

Digital download

Click the PLAY button for an audio sample! Unfortunately, your browser does not support the audio element. Please consider an upgrade.One of Haydn’s few pre-London sonatas to have entered the popular repertoire is the D major, No 37, from the set of six published by the Viennese firm of Artaria in 1780. The sonatas were dedicated to the talented sisters Franziska and Maria Katherina von Auenbrugger, whose playing in aristocratic salons drew the admiration of both Leopold Mozart—never one to dish out compliments lightly—and Haydn himself. The D major’s popularity is easy to understand. The first movement, with its irrepressible, chirruping main theme, evokes the spirit of Domenico Scarlatti at his most dashing within the dynamic of the Classical sonata style. At the centre of the development Haydn offsets the prevailing mood of jocularity with a powerful sequence of suspensions. The Largo e sostenuto, in D minor, is especially striking: a grave, sonorously scored sarabande, archaic in flavour, with a suggestion of a Baroque French overture in its dotted rhythms and imitative contrapuntal textures. Like the slow movement of No 24, it leads without a break into the finale, a guileless rondo marked innocentemente and built around a fetching tune that could have been whistled on any Viennese street corner.from notes by Richard Wigmore © 2007

Musicians who viewed this also viewed

Product details

Title: Sonata in D Major Hob.XVI:37

Ensemble: String quartet

Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)

Arranger: Peter Solomon Gross

Includes score: Yes

Includes parts: No

SKU: PS-2227748-D

Seller: Benjamin Ayotte

About digital downloads:

All music sold on Parts and Score can be downloaded as a PDF. That means you can view it on your phone, tablet, or computer. Once you download your music, you can even print it out. Just download and play it!

Do note that you are only allowed to print the number of copies that you buy. And you many not distribute more copies (digital or printed) than you bought (e.g., sharing copies with students). Each PDF will have a watermark at the bottom of each page with your name.

Sonata in D Major Hob.XVI:37


Secure payments

Download instantly

More string quartet music

Also written by Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)

More sold by Benjamin Ayotte