Ocean Voyage (Full Orchestra)

By Nick Raspa


Includes score and parts

Digital download

When I began this piece, I was thinking about my father and my grandparents and how they left their families and the comfort of familiar surroundings in Italy and immigrated to America for a new life during the early part of the 20th Century. Just as there is an element of danger in taking a trip across the ocean, there is the excitement of the voyage and the promise of a new experience visiting a place you have never been before. The trip itself is an adventure since you will spend several days aboard the ship, and in days that have long since faded from the calendar, these trips took weeks and even months.

This piece attempts to capture the spirit of the adventure and excitement of such a trip. The piece starts with the sounding of the horn and the ship embarks. This leads to a beautiful lyrical section and later there is a spritely gigue. Through these various sections I attempted to capture the various moods of the passengers during various stages of this long journey. Click on the YouTube link to hear the complete piece. ASCAP


Musicians who viewed this also viewed

Product details

Title: Ocean Voyage (Full Orchestra)

Ensemble: Orchestra

Composer: Nick Raspa

Includes score: Yes

Includes parts: Yes

SKU: PS-3047397-D

Seller: NJR Music

About digital downloads:

All music sold on Parts and Score can be downloaded as a PDF. That means you can view it on your phone, tablet, or computer. Once you download your music, you can even print it out. Just download and play it!

Do note that you are only allowed to print the number of copies that you buy. And you many not distribute more copies (digital or printed) than you bought (e.g., sharing copies with students). Each PDF will have a watermark at the bottom of each page with your name.

Ocean Voyage (Full Orchestra)


Secure payments

Download instantly

More orchestra music

Also written by Nick Raspa

More sold by NJR Music