Dimension 20, Regeneration

By Nick Raspa

Piano trio

Includes score and parts

Digital download

This piece is for B Flat Clarinet, Horn in F and Piano. The work was selected by "Access Contemporary Music" to be performed in a Chicago reading session by members of the contemporary music ensemble "Anaphora" and broadcast over the internet in February 2012. This atonal work has a total duration of 9 minute. The title makes reference to both the dodecaphonic movement in music from the early 20th Century and my immigrant family's immigration to the United States during the very early part of the 20th Century.

This serial piece was composed using 10 tone rows. Each instrument was assigned a separate tone row. Rows 1 - 3 comprise first section. Rows 4 - 6 comprise the second section beginning at measure 20. Rows 7 - 9 comprise the third section beginning at measure 41 and Rows 3, 6 & 10 comprise the final section beginning at measure 100. The algorithm used proper names with letters outside the 7 letter musical alphabet being converted using the numbers 1 - 7 in a recurring fashion. Musical letters were first considered natural with duplications in any particular tone row first lowered then raised. Any additional duplication was returned to the natural form. Octaves are considered the same as unison. There were no enharmonic accommodations made to the tone rows. ASCAP

Musicians who viewed this also viewed

Product details

Title: Dimension 20, Regeneration

Ensemble: Piano trio

Composer: Nick Raspa

Includes score: Yes

Includes parts: Yes

SKU: PS-3493695-D

Seller: NJR Music

About digital downloads:

All music sold on Parts and Score can be downloaded as a PDF. That means you can view it on your phone, tablet, or computer. Once you download your music, you can even print it out. Just download and play it!

Do note that you are only allowed to print the number of copies that you buy. And you many not distribute more copies (digital or printed) than you bought (e.g., sharing copies with students). Each PDF will have a watermark at the bottom of each page with your name.

Dimension 20, Regeneration


Secure payments

Download instantly

More piano trio music

Also written by Nick Raspa

More sold by NJR Music