Woodwind Quartet No. 1

By Nick Mazuk

Woodwind quartet

Includes score and parts

Digital download

Movements: 1. Allegro 0:00 2. Adagietto 1:01 3. Scherzando 2:58 4. Largo 4:06 5. Spirited 7:10 6. Fugue 8:27

The woodwind family is an amazing group of instruments. Unlike brass and strings, each instrument has its own unique sound. Yes, a cello sounds different from a violin and a French horn is different than a tuba, but the sound colors are similar. That is a difficult assertion to make with a flute and oboe. All this means is that woodwinds are rich in coloristic opportunities.

When writing this piece, I tried to give each movement its own unique character. Other than simply changing the harmonic and rhythmic language of each movement, every line is crafted towards the instrument that plays it. For instance, listen to the expressive lines that the oboe has in the slow movements or the silly and playful lines that the oboe has in the faster movements.

In the last movement in particular, which is the Fugue, pay attention to how the main subject sounds and feels different as the different instruments enter and play it. While the subject itself doesn’t change, the emotional connection to the subject changes as the various instruments play it with a different color. That is a prime example on how rich the colors in the woodwind section are.


Musicians who viewed this also viewed

Product details

Title: Woodwind Quartet No. 1

Ensemble: Woodwind quartet

Composer: Nick Mazuk

Includes score: Yes

Includes parts: Yes

SKU: PS-2243803-D

Seller: Nick Mazuk

About digital downloads:

All music sold on Parts and Score can be downloaded as a PDF. That means you can view it on your phone, tablet, or computer. Once you download your music, you can even print it out. Just download and play it!

Do note that you are only allowed to print the number of copies that you buy. And you many not distribute more copies (digital or printed) than you bought (e.g., sharing copies with students). Each PDF will have a watermark at the bottom of each page with your name.

Woodwind Quartet No. 1


Secure payments

Download instantly

More woodwind quartet music

Also written by Nick Mazuk

More sold by Nick Mazuk