Guthrie: Neomedieval Suite for Flute, Oboe and Clarinet

By James Guthrie

Small ensemble

Includes score and parts

Digital download

Neomedieval Suite - Duration: 11:43 Score: 10 pages, parts: 3 pages, 113 measures. In 5 movements. I. Canon a3 (by inversion and augmentation) II. Contrapunctus a3 III. Canon a2 (retrograde canon with a free voice) IV. Contrapunctus a3 V. Canon a3 (at the third and octave)

Programming: Great choice for a recital to show off your trio. Can be programmed as a whole or split up into individual movements. You could program just the canons (I. III. & V.), or just the contrapuncti (II & IV). These could also work well for presentation in church during Lent. One movement could be performed as a meditation each Sunday for the 5 Sundays before Easter - very effective! The music is at the intermediate level, and easily sight-readable by more advanced players - no rehearsal needed. The textures are very contrapuntal, so be ready to give and take expressively among the various lines of the trio.

Musicians who viewed this also viewed

Product details

Title: Guthrie: Neomedieval Suite for Flute, Oboe and Clarinet

Ensemble: Small ensemble

Composer: James Guthrie

Includes score: Yes

Includes parts: Yes

SKU: PS-3759147-D


About digital downloads:

All music sold on Parts and Score can be downloaded as a PDF. That means you can view it on your phone, tablet, or computer. Once you download your music, you can even print it out. Just download and play it!

Do note that you are only allowed to print the number of copies that you buy. And you many not distribute more copies (digital or printed) than you bought (e.g., sharing copies with students). Each PDF will have a watermark at the bottom of each page with your name.

Guthrie: Neomedieval Suite for Flute, Oboe and Clarinet


Secure payments

Download instantly

More small ensemble music

Also written by James Guthrie

More sold by