The Year 1812 (1812 Overture)

By Pyotr Ilyitch Tchaikovsky (1840-1893), arr. Martin Tousignant

Concert band

Includes score

Digital download

Click the PLAY button for an audio sample! Unfortunately, your browser does not support the audio element. Please consider an upgrade.The Year 1812, festival overture in Eâ™­ major, Op. 49, popularly known as the 1812 Overture, is an overture written in 1880 by Russian composer Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky to commemorate Russia's defense of its motherland against Napoleon's invading Grande Armée in 1812.The overture debuted in Moscow on August 20, 1882, conducted by Ippolit Al'tani under a tent near the then-unfinished Cathedral of Christ the Saviour, which also memorialized the 1812 defense of Russia. The overture was conducted by Tchaikovsky himself in 1891 at the dedication of Carnegie Hall, in what was one of the first times a major European composer visited the United States. The overture is best known for its climactic volley of cannon fire, ringing chimes, and brass fanfare finale. It has also become a common accompaniment to fireworks displays on the United States' Independence Day. The 1812 Overture went on to become one of Tchaikovsky's most popular works, along with his ballet scores to The Nutcracker, The Sleeping Beauty, and Swan Lake.

Musicians who viewed this also viewed

Product details

Title: The Year 1812 (1812 Overture)

Ensemble: Concert band

Composer: Pyotr Ilyitch Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)

Arranger: Martin Tousignant

Includes score: Yes

Includes parts: No

SKU: PS-3853993-D

Seller: Benjamin Ayotte

About digital downloads:

All music sold on Parts and Score can be downloaded as a PDF. That means you can view it on your phone, tablet, or computer. Once you download your music, you can even print it out. Just download and play it!

Do note that you are only allowed to print the number of copies that you buy. And you many not distribute more copies (digital or printed) than you bought (e.g., sharing copies with students). Each PDF will have a watermark at the bottom of each page with your name.

The Year 1812 (1812 Overture)


Secure payments

Download instantly

More concert band music

Also written by Pyotr Ilyitch Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)

More sold by Benjamin Ayotte