Preview images


Show video

This video is hosted by a third party. By showing the external content you accept's terms and conditions.


Movements: 1. Allegro 0:00 2. Adagietto 1:01 3. Scherzando 2:58 4. Largo 4:06 5. Spirited 7:10 6. Fugue 8:27 The woodwind family is an amazing group of instruments. Unlike brass and strings, each instrument has its own unique sound. Yes, a cello sounds different from a violin and a French horn is different than a tuba, but the sound colors are similar. That is a difficult assertion to make with a flute and oboe. All this means is that woodwinds are rich in coloristic opportunities. When writing this piece, I tried to give each movement its own unique character. Other than simply changing the harmonic and rhythmic language of each movement, every line is crafted towards the instrument that plays it. For instance, listen to the expressive lines that the oboe has in the slow movements or the silly and playful lines that the oboe has in the faster movements. In the last movement in particular, which is the Fugue, pay attention to how the main subject sounds and feels different as the different instruments enter and play it. While the subject itself doesn’t change, the emotional connection to the subject changes as the various instruments play it with a different color. That is a prime example on how rich the colors in the woodwind section are.

Product details

Product details
Detail Value


Woodwind Quartet No. 1


Woodwind quartet


Nick Mazuk

Includes score


Includes parts





Nick Mazuk

All music sold on Parts and Score can be downloaded as a PDF. That means you can view it on your phone, tablet, or computer. Once you download your music, you can even print it out. Just download and play it!

Do note that you are only allowed to print the number of copies that you buy. And you many not distribute more copies (digital or printed) than you bought (e.g., sharing copies with students). Each PDF will have a watermark on each page with your name.

Woodwind Quartet No. 1

By Nick Mazuk


Woodwind quartet

Includes score and parts

Digital download

Discover the Parts and Score difference

Download music instantly

Don't wait for days or weeks for shipping. Download your music instantly.

Embrace simplicity

Embrace simplicity in all things, including your music. Find, create, and share music easily.

Support the planet

We contribute 2.5% of all our revenue to CO2 removal.

Preserve your privacy

Your data is your data. We will never sell your data to advertisers or other third parties.