Essay on Silent Night (String Quartet)

By Nick Raspa

String quartet

Includes score and parts

Digital download

This new piece, which I was commissioned to write in 1998, is based on the original hymn Silent Night. The work opens with the same gesture as the original hymn and the beginning section of the work is the development of that gesture. The second section takes the development a step further with the original carol serving as the fundamental basis and being sounded out very slowly over the course of the entire section being felt rather than heard. There is a return to the opening section before the piece concludes with a coda. ASCAP

Musicians who viewed this also viewed

Product details

Title: Essay on Silent Night (String Quartet)

Ensemble: String quartet

Composer: Nick Raspa

Includes score: Yes

Includes parts: Yes

SKU: PS-1302018-D

Seller: NJR Music

About digital downloads:

All music sold on Parts and Score can be downloaded as a PDF. That means you can view it on your phone, tablet, or computer. Once you download your music, you can even print it out. Just download and play it!

Do note that you are only allowed to print the number of copies that you buy. And you many not distribute more copies (digital or printed) than you bought (e.g., sharing copies with students). Each PDF will have a watermark at the bottom of each page with your name.

Essay on Silent Night (String Quartet)


Secure payments

Download instantly

More string quartet music

Also written by Nick Raspa

More sold by NJR Music