Essay on Silent Night (Saxophone Quartet) SATB

By Nick Raspa

Saxophone quartet

Includes score and parts

Digital download

Essay on Silent Night was commissioned as a string quartet by Dr. Karl Moyer, music director for Grace Lutheran Church, for performance during the candle lighting ceremony at mid-night mass in Lancaster Pa. This version is for saxophone quartet. The piece is based on the original hymn, Silent Night, by Franz Gruber. The opening section is developed from the same rhythmic opening as the original hymn (dotted quarter, eighth, quarter). The second section is set in common time and is heavily contrapuntal with the theme being passed back and forth between all the instruments as the section develops. There is a return to the opening section before concluding with a coda. The coda was originally written to act as a segue for the congregation to sing the original hymn following the performance of this piece. The tempo is quarter = 96 and the total duration of the work is 4' 30". ASCAP

Musicians who viewed this also viewed

Product details

Title: Essay on Silent Night (Saxophone Quartet) SATB

Ensemble: Saxophone quartet

Composer: Nick Raspa

Includes score: Yes

Includes parts: Yes

SKU: PS-8230481-D

Seller: NJR Music

About digital downloads:

All music sold on Parts and Score can be downloaded as a PDF. That means you can view it on your phone, tablet, or computer. Once you download your music, you can even print it out. Just download and play it!

Do note that you are only allowed to print the number of copies that you buy. And you many not distribute more copies (digital or printed) than you bought (e.g., sharing copies with students). Each PDF will have a watermark at the bottom of each page with your name.

Essay on Silent Night (Saxophone Quartet) SATB


Secure payments

Download instantly

More saxophone quartet music

Also written by Nick Raspa

More sold by NJR Music