Mozart: Ave verum corpus K. 618 for Piano Quartet

By Mozart, arr. James Guthrie, ASCAP

Piano quartet

Includes score and parts

Digital download

Mozart: Ave verum corpus K. 618. Duration: 2:30 Score: 4 pg, String part: 1 pg, Piano part: 2 pg. This is an amazing masterpiece of music written by one of the greatest composers in our history. This popular piece by Mozart was composed only 6 months before his untimely death in 1791. Mozart wrote this on commission while working on the Magic Flute. Program this for Lent or Easter meditations, or any Christian communion service. Also, this would be a strong recital encore showing mastery of phrasing, tone quality, and dynamics. Ave verum corpus First of all, Mozart composed a most noteworthy motet in Latin entitled Ave verum corpus. This translates in English as Hail, true body. The motet is certainly listed as K.618 in the Köchel Catalog. This is a chronological catalog of Mozart’s compositions consequently published by Ludwig von Köchel. Seems like Mozart probably composed this motet in the last year of his life. Likewise, he worked on his final opera, the Magic Flute, as well as his Requiem Mass at the time. Mozart wrote it for the feast Corpus Christi. He scored it for SATB choir, string instruments, and a small organ. Hence, while the Requiem is a more melodramatic work, the motet expresses, even more, the Eucharistic thoughts with rather simple means, well-matched for the church choir in a small town.

Early Years Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 – 1791), was a productive and significant Austrian classical composer. Mozart displayed unusual musical capability from his earliest childhood. It seems like he was already capable on keyboard and violin at the age of two. He started composing at age five and performed before European royalty.

Middle Period At 17, Mozart was working as a musician at the Salzburg Royal court but grew agitated from boredom and traveled to search for a more interesting job. While visiting Vienna in 1781, he was summarily dismissed from his Salzburg job. Nevertheless, he decided to stay in the capital (Vienna), where he achieved much fame but little economic haven. Throughout his concluding years in the Capital, he composed many of his most famous works: symphonies, operas, and concertos.

Final Period The conditions surrounding his death have been much the subject of much conjecture and mythology. He composed more than 600 works, many recognized as highpoints of symphonic, chamber, concertante, choral and operatic. He is among the most everlastingly popular of classical composers, and his impact is substantial on succeeding Western art music.

Musicians who viewed this also viewed

Product details

Title: Mozart: Ave verum corpus K. 618 for Piano Quartet

Ensemble: Piano quartet

Composer: Mozart

Arranger: James Guthrie, ASCAP

Includes score: Yes

Includes parts: Yes

SKU: PS-8558747-D


About digital downloads:

All music sold on Parts and Score can be downloaded as a PDF. That means you can view it on your phone, tablet, or computer. Once you download your music, you can even print it out. Just download and play it!

Do note that you are only allowed to print the number of copies that you buy. And you many not distribute more copies (digital or printed) than you bought (e.g., sharing copies with students). Each PDF will have a watermark at the bottom of each page with your name.

Mozart: Ave verum corpus K. 618 for Piano Quartet


Secure payments

Download instantly

More piano quartet music

Also written by Mozart

More sold by