Preview images


This is a duet arrangement of Bach’s adaptation of the Violin Concerto in C major op 1 No.4 by Johann Ernst Prinz von Sachsen Weimar. Or perhaps not... the original piece is not in the set of Ernst’s concertos edited by Telemann and published in 1718. Its attribution is based only on the title, and the original has not been found. Johann Ernst of Saxe-Weimar (1696 –1715) was a German prince who dies at the tender age of 18. He was a collector and commissioner of music and also a composer himself. Some of his concertos were arranged for harpsichord or organ by Bach, who was court organist in Weimar at the time. Bach made these transcriptions roughly between 1713 and 1714 between Johann Ernst’s return from Utrecht and the prince’s final departure from Weimar. There is some debate on Johann Ernst’s role in the creation of these arrangements, whether he commissioned some from one or both of the musicians or whether Bach, in particular, was studying some of the works collected by the prince for their own sake. There are suggestions that on a visit to Amsterdam in February 1713 the Prince may have heard the blind organist J. J. de Graff, who is known to have played keyboard arrangements of other composers’ concertos. In any case, Bach’s encounter with the prince’s collection, and especially the Italian music it contained, had a profound influence on the development of the composer’s musical style. (Source: Internet - wiki) For more new compositions and arrangements, please visit

Product details

Product details
Detail Value


Concerto No. IV in C major for Piano Duet


Piano duet


Bach / Ernst


Simon Peberdy

Includes score


Includes parts





SimonPeberdyMusic - Compositions and Arrangements by Simon Peberdy

All music sold on Parts and Score can be downloaded as a PDF. That means you can view it on your phone, tablet, or computer. Once you download your music, you can even print it out. Just download and play it!

Do note that you are only allowed to print the number of copies that you buy. And you many not distribute more copies (digital or printed) than you bought (e.g., sharing copies with students). Each PDF will have a watermark on each page with your name.

Concerto No. IV in C major for Piano Duet

By Bach / Ernst. Arranged by Simon Peberdy.


Piano duet

Includes score

Digital download

Discover the Parts and Score difference

Download music instantly

Don't wait for days or weeks for shipping. Download your music instantly.

Embrace simplicity

Embrace simplicity in all things, including your music. Find, create, and share music easily.

Support the planet

We contribute 2.5% of all our revenue to CO2 removal.

Preserve your privacy

Your data is your data. We will never sell your data to advertisers or other third parties.