Preview images


"Starting Out" is a set of 6 short (2- 4 mins) jazz and blues inspired pieces for solo piano to give intermediate pianists a taste for style and improvisation- with emphasis on swung quavers. The titles in the set are: 1. Walk to Town, 2. Sleepytown, 3. Stompin, 4. On and Off, 5. NightTime and 6. Sunny Day. The styles of the set range from blues to a-12 bar feel, Jazz Waltz, Swing etc The improvisations are notated and will sound as if you're making them up! Fingering has been given and they are roughly intermediate- grade 4-5 ass board in level. 26 pages in total Note: Samples are on the youtube link of each one for you to assess suitability

Product details

Product details
Detail Value


"Starting Out" Six Short Jazz and Blues Inspired pieces for solo piano with notated Improvisations.


Unaccompanied piano


Grant Horsley



Includes score


Includes parts





Grant Horsley Music

All music sold on Parts and Score can be downloaded as a PDF. That means you can view it on your phone, tablet, or computer. Once you download your music, you can even print it out. Just download and play it!

Do note that you are only allowed to print the number of copies that you buy. And you many not distribute more copies (digital or printed) than you bought (e.g., sharing copies with students). Each PDF will have a watermark on each page with your name.

"Starting Out" Six Short Jazz and Blues Inspired pieces for solo piano with notated Improvisations.

By Grant Horsley


Unaccompanied piano

Includes score

Digital download

Discover the Parts and Score difference

Download music instantly

Don't wait for days or weeks for shipping. Download your music instantly.

Embrace simplicity

Embrace simplicity in all things, including your music. Find, create, and share music easily.

Support the planet

We contribute 2.5% of all our revenue to CO2 removal.

Preserve your privacy

Your data is your data. We will never sell your data to advertisers or other third parties.